No More Svengali

Whitney Houston 1963-2012... We will always lo...

Whitney Houston 1963-2012… We will always love you!!!! (Photo credit: his grace)

I’m soooo slow!  On June 10th, I posted the question “Did Whitney Houston subconsciously abuse her voice to get away from Clive Davis?” 

Strangely, this question came to me as soon as I woke up.  I had not listened to her music or read anything about her recently.  I remembered the interview with Diane Sawyer where Whitney alluded to Clive Davis as her Svengali.

A strong feeling stayed with me that day and I thought, “Maybe this Svengali notion was less about someone I’ve never met (Whitney or Clive) and more about someone in my life.”  However, no one came to mind.

NOW I KNOW!  It was obvious but I was oblivious.

For months, I’ve been in a joint venture with a woman who has her own established business.  Since my business is new and struggling I was doing some work for her as needed.  Although we got along together, she is a harsh judge and two-faced.  She was often riding an emotional roller coaster.  What I really mean to say is, she was a drama queen!  In a nano second, she could blow up and go from joking to Jerry Springer over little bitty unimportant things.

Unpredictable is a good way to describe her.  If I had something planned for the day she often called me with something to do for her.  Money was included but not enough to make it worth tolerating her.  I’m an easy-going person and when it comes to making money sometimes I put up with behaviors that I shouldn’t.

That very evening of June 10th, she called to sever our joint venture because I wasn’t available on Sunday morning when she needed me for something that came up.  At first, I felt stunned because she didn’t act like it was serious until that evening.  Every other time, I was available to help her but because of this one Sunday morning when I wasn’t she cut the rope.

Less than five minutes later, I felt so GOOD!  Like someone let me out of prison.  It was then, I realized how she was draining my energy with her drama roller coaster rides.  I didn’t make much money in business with her but I spent a great deal of my time doing things that she was too busy to do.  Was she a Svengali with sinister motives?  No, I think she was more of a blood sucking control freak!  Maybe that’s not a huge difference though.

Isn’t that fascinating?  God gave me a message in the morning that my situation was like someone elses situation.  It should have been obvious right then who needed to get out of my life.  The Svengali in my life cut me loose that evening but I didn’t figure it all out until almost two weeks later.  How pathetically slow of me!  I thank God that He freed me from a draining business relationship before anything bad happened.  Bye bye Svengali!

Questions, Answers, Crass Remarks!