Then There’s Max

 

Max Lucado entertains a group of Ethiopian chi...

Max Lucado entertains a group of Ethiopian children (Photo credit: Michael S. Hyatt)

Several years ago, I saw and heard Max Lucado speak.  I had never heard of him before but I went with some people who read his books and heard him talk.  After hearing him I have no regrets and I’ll jump at the next opportunity.

Max Lucado wasn’t preachy or showy nor did he make himself the center of attention.  The building where I saw him was big but not a ginormous professional basketball stadium.  If there were cameras I never saw them, he did not take center stage but actually stood off to the left most of the time.  The experience was not a noise extravaganza with people cheering and screaming, not that there’s anything wrong with that, it was a simple and comfortable environment.  No razzle dazzle.

Lucado didn’t come across as one who was putting on an act but one who was genuine and genuinely talked about Jesus.  He’s a positive preacher but not a “prosperity preacher”.  I don’t remember the theme of his speech but he had me in tears and ice water runs through my veins.   What he said was substantial, I left there completely full not empty as is usually the case with preachers.

Since then, I’ve read a few of Lucado’s books and I’ll read anything he writes and watch any of his broadcasts, which are few.  Afterward, I always feel moved by his message and he doesn’t have to scream or use the word “money” constantly.

Check out his website MaxLucado.com, I highly recommend his message.

 

Questions, Answers, Crass Remarks!

