Joel Osteen Doesn’t Know

Joel Osteen, “I believe my way with all my heart.”  Watch him say it on “Lary King” and decide for yourself what it means.

English: Joel Osteen at Lakewood Church, Houst...

Joel Osteen at Lakewood Church, Houston, Texas (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A while back, I visited Lakewood Church when I was in Houston and I found it to be nothing more than a big production. There was a stage, a camera operator on a big crane down front, lights, loud music with lots of people clapping and cheering the stars. You know who the stars of that show are, Mr and Mrs Preacher. That’s how everybody acted, like they were the stars of the show. Not Jesus.

It doesn’t appear as showy on TV as it does in real life but maybe all broadcasts are like that. Although, Joel Osteen’s message is all positive it’s missing something and feels shallow, at least to me. The majority of the crowd acted all happy, most were all smiles yet not really friendly. In fact, I found the people outside of the church to be more friendly and helpful than anyone inside. People inside the church didn’t even look at me much less say anything to me. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t dressed up in expensive clothes.

I’ve learned never trust people who smile constantly, they’re all hiding something. Mr and Mrs Preacher were all smiles in front of the camera and crowd but they acted like they couldn’t wait to run away from they’re adoring fans. As soon as the camera was off so were they and the choir immediately took their places and sang louder than before.

I’m not sure that I ever heard anyone speak the name of Jesus the whole time I was there. I left feeling empty and I never returned to Lakewood. Actually, it wasn’t unlike the average American church without cameras.

2 comments on “Joel Osteen Doesn’t Know

  1. … but is it their fault or their fans?

    • Good question. I think it’s got to be both. Osteen started preaching his message, people keep buying it and making him richer. He keeps preaching it and they keep buying it so he preaches more of it and he gets richer still.

Questions, Answers, Crass Remarks!

