Q: Why Lie?

Photo compliments of FrankColes.com

Q: Why the lie?                                   

I know a woman who believed she had to lie to buy a jet ski. She saved her money for quite some time then looked for a used jet ski that an individual was selling not at a dealership. She found a jet ski priced at $950 but she had only saved $700. She was determined to spend only what she saved and no borrowing money.  A very good thing to do, however, she thought she had to invent a lie to get it for $700.   

The lie she conjured was more complicated than a Charles Dickens novel.  I couldn’t follow it.  She practiced her story then after meeting the seller and seeing the jet ski she told her sad story. He believed her and sold her the jet ski for $350 less than his asking price including the trailer. She gave him $700 cash and took it home.

As soon as she got on the road with the jet ski and trailer bad things started happening.  Proverbs 19:5 A false witness will not go unpunished, and the one who spouts out lies will not escape punishment.  Her car got a flat tire causing her to block traffic, had to call a friend to help her change the tire, waited for him out in the heat and traffic for an hour then he had problems changing the tire.  Finally, he got the donut on, she drove it home and parked the jet ski in the garage where it has sat for two months.

Now, I’ve heard that she regrets buying the jet ski. Apparently, after she got it home she took a closer look and found things that need fixing. Her estimates of the repairs are over $250 plus what ever else she would have to buy to start riding it out on the lake. By the way, the nearest lake is at least two hours from her house!

After hearing this story, I keep asking myself, Why did she think she had to lie to buy?  The purchase was a business deal and business is business. That means there’s no need to bring personal issues and heavy emotions into the deal.

A: The reason for the lie was out of this woman’s desperation, fear and greed. DESPERATION is feeling like, “I must have this and have it now!”  Psalm 102:2 Do not ignore me in my time of trouble! Listen to me! When I call out to you, quickly answer me!  FEAR is, “I’m afraid that I’ll miss another opportunity and I’ll be miserable.”  2 Timothy 1:7 For God did not give us a Spirit of fear but of power and love and self-control. GREED is, “I must have that whatever.”  Jeremiah 6:13 That is because, from the least important to the most important of them, all of them are greedy for dishonest gain.

Q: What else could she do?

A: If I were buying the jet ski (yes, I want a jet ski too) I would learn what ever I needed to know about jet skis or have a knowledgable friend with me whom I trusted to look it over completely before making a decision. (Note: This woman is knowledgable about the machine she simple got too excited and bought it without checking all the systems.) Then I would honestly tell the man, “Since it has this problem and needs that fixed will you take $700 cash? It’s all that I have.” Hold the ca$h out for him to see it! If he said, “No, I can’t go that low.” it would be okay.  I would politely thank him for his time and leave. That’s it.  That’s business.

When things don’t work out I have learned that, “It wasn’t meant to be. God has something better for me elsewhere.”  I don’t become desperate for whatever, like I used to when I was younger. This has saved me not only money but emotional stress as well. I trust God especially with expensive purchases.  Proverbs 11:3 The integrity of the upright guides them, but the crookedness of the unfaithful destroys them. Not to say that I don’t make bad decisions, I do. I’ve simply learned the hard way to minimize the risks by allowing God to guide me rather than me guide me.

Questions, Answers, Crass Remarks!

