Heartbreak on 4 Legs

 

Q:  Does God care for animals?

Today was a difficult day.  I had to say goodbye to my cat.  He was over 12 years old and had recently developed cancer.  I’ve always been an animal lover but I grew up with people who were not.  People would tell me things like, “Animals should never live in the house with people.  Animals are not important.  It doesn’t matter what happens to dogs and cats they’re just animals.”  I have never believed any of this.

A:  I know that humans are more important than animals but God created them before us so I came to the conclusion that God must care about them.  So I found a few scriptures that send one message:  God cares for animals.

  • Genesis 33:13 But Jacob said to him, “My lord knows that the children are young, and that I have to look after the sheep and cattle that are nursing their young.  If they are driven too hard for even a single day, all the animals will die.
  • Jonah 4:11 Should I not be even more concerned about Nineveh, this enormous city?  There are more than one hundred twenty thousand people in it who do not know right from wrong, as well as many animals!”

  • Deuteronomy 22:1-4 When you see your neighbor’s ox or sheep going astray, do not ignore it; you must return it without fail to your neighbor.  2 If the owner does not live near you or you do not know who the owner is, then you must corral the animal at your house and let it stay with you until the owner looks for it; then you must return it to him.  3 You shall do the same to his donkey, his clothes, or anything else your neighbor has lost and you have found; you must not refuse to get involved.  4 When you see your neighbor’s donkey or ox fallen along the road, do not ignore it; instead, you must be sure to help him get the animal on its feet again.

There you have it, right from the horse makers mouth!

He was a great cat.  He was extremely loveable and happy.  He almost wagged his fuzzy tail like a dog.  I blubbered at the vet’s office and stayed with him to the end.  I have no doubt that it was the right thing to do because he was in pain and not eating or drinking.  He had a good life and I will always love him.

The actress, Kyra Sedgwick, said it best when talking about loosing pets, “They’re a heartbreak on four legs.”

Questions, Answers, Crass Remarks!

